Hope and Renewal

Today is Christmas, which for people who are Christian, marks the birth of Jesus. This is a time of hope and anticipation. Although I don’t practice any religion at this point in my life, I appreciate the sense of hope that comes with this season, and the opportunity for renewal that comes with the dawning of a new year.

For the first time in many years, I woke up on Christmas morning with a clear head, unclouded by the aftereffects of overindulging in alcohol. I have been relishing the peace and quiet of the early morning hours, watching as daylight breaks and a snowstorm settles in outside. Today, I have hope. I have hope that I can and will live a life without alcohol and emerge finally and fully as the amazing, strong woman that I know I am. I have hope that I can learn to navigate, indeed, to embrace, the winding, rocky, hilly path that is life. Challenges and obstacles are merely opportunities for growth. Yes, life is a trail run! I am so excited for the coming year. Yes, it will be filled with challenges, both personally and nationally. I have hope that I will continue to grow in every aspect of my life: emotional, spiritual, financial, career, and relationships. I have hope that I will be able to face every twist and turn of this trail run that is my life without resorting to numbing with alcohol. Life is so much better without it. Growth and triumph are impossible with it.

I choose growth and triumph. I choose to relish the trail run of my life. Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, and Joyful Hope and Renewal to All.

Leave a comment